Microlise Driver of the Year Awards 2018 - Shortlist Announced

Microlise Driver of the Year Awards Shortlist Announced

2017 overall winner Rafal Kolanko collecting his trophy

The UK’s best  truck drivers have today been named, as the shortlist for the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards is published ahead of the awards ceremony on 15 May.

Bigger than ever before the awards this year took in data from more than 180,000 drivers. Following weeks of telematics data analysis, corroboration, engagement with employers and review by an independent judging panel – just nine remain in it to win it.

The winners of the Microlise Driver of the Year Awards, Short, Medium and Long distance categories will be revealed at an exclusive black-tie dinner. The ultimate winner will then be announced at Europe’s largest road transport conference – the Microlise Transport Conference.

The shortlist includes drivers from DHL, Menzies, Co-op, Hovis, Eddie Stobart, Warburtons, CEVA and Culina.

Shortlists have also been produced across a range of nomination-based categories; Young Driver of the Year, Most Improved Driver of the Year, Extra Mile, HGV Hero and Lifetime Achievement Award and include drivers from Ryder, CEVA, Samworth Brothers, Royal Mail, Frank Roberts, DHL, BRS, Bibby Distribution and Travis Perkins. The winners of these awards will also be revealed at the black-tie dinner on 15 May.


Short Distance
Ian Hedley – Co-op
Gary Padgett – DHL Next
Timothy Murphy – Menzies

Medium Distance
Richard Barnes – Hovis
Brian Holmes – Warburtons
John Patterson – Eddie Stobart

Long Distance
Alan Bateman – Ceva
David Cashmore – Culina
Richard Porter – Culina

Driver Excellence – Sponsored by Road Haulage Association
No shortlist – award to be presented to operator with largest proportion of drivers in the top 1,000.

Extra Mile – Sponsored by Bridgestone
Richard Durrant- DHL
Stephen Amphlett – Frank Roberts
Daryl Holness – BRS

HGV Hero – Sponsored by Ford & Slater
James Hilton – Bibby Distribution
Gavin Riley – DHL Argos
Nick Mouyiassi- DHL Argos

Most Improved Driver of the Year – Sponsored by NFU Mutual
Gary Hollinrake – Frank Roberts
Jamie Pladgeman – Samworth Brothers
Anthony Roche – Royal Mail

Young Driver of the Year – Sponsored by Santander
Jake Brotherhood – Samworth Brothers
Michael Coker – Ceva
Aaron Haynes – Ryder

Lifetime Achievement – Sponsored by Apex
Angus Campbell – Travis Perkins
Robert Hughes – Bibby Distribution
Mark Lyons – Frank Roberts



Dedicated Expo Area Featuring Industry Suppliers & Associations


Focused Session on Key Products & Topics


Microlise Driver of the Year Awards